Homemade Coconut Oil Lotion

Standard
It's summertime and while the humidity in Texas means lotion is not a requirement especially this time of year, coconut oil can be a wonderful beauty tool. I've been using it as a hair conditioning mask and although you can use it right out of the jar, if you add a few (really only 2) ingredients and your mixer, you'll have a fabulous cream. A little goes a looooong way – I tested it out on G and we ended up using paper towels to wipe off excess oil so a little dab will do ya!

I didn't measure my ingredients (big surprise there) but if I had to guess I think I used 3/4 cup organic coconut oil, 1/8 teaspoon essential oil and 1/2 tablespoon of grape seed oil. I didn't want a strong smell so I just added a few drops. You can always make it stronger later.

Using your kitchen or handheld mixer beat together for 5 to 6 minutes. It'll turn a beautiful white creamy color. Now this is whipped oil so once it comes into contact with your skin it will turn into instant liquid so you won't need much.

Coconut oil is great as a makeup remover, face moisturizer, and good for burns but if using it for any of that I would leave out the essential oil for a fragrance free version that won't irritate delicate skin. And store in a cool area. Hope you enjoy!

 

2 responses »

  1. I love coconut oil. 🙂 Where would I find grape seed oil? Hope you’re doing well, I love reading your posts.

Leave a Reply

