Pickled Avocados

Standard

Hmmmm avocados…love these little fruits packed with so much nutritional goodness. Thank goodness G loves them as much as I do because we eat them. A lot. As in almost every day and I'm not kidding. It takes no time to whip up a batch of guacamole or slice some with a little Tony Chacheres and drizzled with a little Italian dressing but I was on the look out for some new recipes.

I happened to see this recipe on pickled avocados by La Fugi Mama and couldn't wait to try it out. Not only do they look and smell fabulous but she took out the guessing game by trying all the different brines for me. Love her!!!! The brine is cooling and I'll let them marinate for 24 hours but I can't wait to try these!

I'm thinking some garlic would taste amazing and maybe a pepper or two. I'm also thinking I'll divide them up in my little jars and share the avocado goodness with friends. Enjoy!

 

Pickled Avocados

Makes 1 quart jar

3 medium avocados

1 cup white vinegar

1 cup water

1 tablespoon non-iodized sea salt, or kosher salt

1. Cut the avocados in half, and remove the pits, then carefully peel away the skin from the fruit. Cut the avocados into large chunks and gently pack them into a clean glass quart jar.

2. Combine the vinegar, water, and salt in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil.

3. Pour the brine over the avocados in the jar. Wipe any vinegar spills from the jar rim with a clean towel or paper towel and gently screw the lid onto the jar.

4. Let the jar sit until it has cooled down. Once the jar is fairly cool, it should be put into the refrigerator for at least 24 hours before eating to give the flavors time to meld. The avocados will keep, tightly sealed in the refrigerator, for up to 2 weeks.

 

Leave a comment